Anybody use a chipper?

I love using my chipper around the green. Anybody else?

1 Like

I have a Square Strike wedge and used it heavily for a while. Once I started playing a lot more, I was able to groove my short game with my other clubs, so it’s not in the bag anymore, but for what it is, it’s a fantastic club. I really think anyone who doesn’t play that often or just struggles with shots around the green should definitely keep something like that in the bag as you just step up, take a putting stroke, and are pretty much guaranteed to finish somewhere on the green.

1 Like

I always thought these were a marketing gimic so could never bring myself to use them…

1 Like

That’s a great explanation, and more recreational and weekend players - who want to have fun and make those nervy touch shots around the greens - should definitely consider one.

I’ve worked very hard, for a long time, on my short game - which is NOT to say I’m “too good” for a chipper but my short game is better than my long game and I’ve trained myself to be able to take advantage of the versatility of a wedge.

My wife has one and loves it; maybe a little too much as she sometimes grabs it when she’s further from the green and a wedge might work better. But anyway, I’ve tried hers a few times and in the right situation it does make a difficult shot easier!

2 Likes

Never used a chipper but I have used an Alien wedge.

Pretty sure they’re not USGA conforming, but if you’re just out kicking it around with the fellas or gals, then who cares. Do you, brother.

They’re conforming as irons as long as they don’t have a putter grip and aren’t a “two way” chipper. The Square Strike is conforming, although I don’t expect to see one on tour any time soon.

Maybe Bryson will start using one.

That blows my mind. I would have thought for sure anything “gimmicky” would be non-conforming.

1 Like

Ralph Maltby used to make a club called the SandPutter that was basically a chipper.

1 Like