Swing Path - I'm still learning

At the beginning of my season, my swing coach saw me practicing, said something and for some reason I interpreted it as him telling me I had gotten my swing on too much of an inside path… I don’t remember exactly the conversation, but I ended up hitting a controlled fade (that rarely sliced) and I was actually playing decent golf, as my path was consistent.

Finally got around to taking a lesson, and he said he had told me the opposite, we worked on getting my swing less over the top, and I started hitting less of a fade, and playing better overall… I can still hit a draw on demand, and the feel was always me closing my hands at impact to “draw” through the ball…

Then I listened to the “Accuracy Podcast” by Jon… and realized I was completely incompetent when it came to understanding path, and how to hit a draw and a fade.

My new basic understanding (and please correct me if I’m wrong) is the ONLY thing that determines a draw or a fade is your club path (and some gear effect). If you swing on an outside to in path, the ball will fade. If you swing inside to out, the ball will draw… Your hands and wrists can work to manipulate the angle of the club face to get the ball started on the correct line, but the spin is determine by the path of the club.

Maybe this is basic to others, but it was eye opening for me… both how much swing path can impact your accuracy and how spin actually works during the swing… One of my goals this offseason is going to be to gain a better physical understanding of my path… I’m hoping we will have a golf simulator, and I want to focus on finding my “0 path swing”… not to play a straight shot on the golf course, but to find the balance point of my swing, so I can feel when I’m swinging it too much out to in or in to out… My hope is I can build a more consistent path for myself, and reduce variability on the golf course.