Playing at golf instead of working at golf

Don’t get me wrong, I still want to improve, and I enjoy practicing. But the constant state of trying to fix something in my swing is exhausting to me. I would love to reach a state where I can just play good golf and enjoy it without thinking so much about it. That seems like it would be so much more relaxing and enjoyable. I think this is partly my mental approach and partly my approach to the physical parts of the swing.

I was a self-taught golfer and was probably about a 13 handicap. A few years ago I started taking lessons at GolfTec. It really helped improve my mechanics, and I was able to get down to a 7. It was very technical with the video review and trying to hit certain body positions at certain points in the swing. I kind of hit a plateau, so this year I started dabbling with Tom Saguto’s stack-and-tilt method. I have hit my irons as good as I ever have, but the driver has been inconsistent.

Very recently, inspired by some Shawn Clement videos, I’ve just been taking a more relaxed, natural, free-flowing swing, and I’ve been hitting it pretty well. Trying not to have too many technical thoughts other than just a nice smooth tempo. More importantly, it’s just been a lot more enjoyable. I think this has been a change both mentally and physically, but if it can continue, seems like just a much more low-maintenance approach.

But will it last, or will it inevitably wear off, and then start a new cycle of trying to fix something in my swing?

Can anyone relate to this? Maybe it’s just a change in my mental approach of not being a perfectionist and playing with the swing I have? Thinking more in line with Adam Young’s ‘skill development’ model as opposed to having a technically perfect swing?

8 Likes