I'm not progressing

Gentlemen, I need help. I’ve been playing for close to two years now (interrupted by two lockdowns), and somehow I feel like I’m not progressing any further.

I’m out on the range and the course 1-2 times a week if work and family permit, I’ve taken lessons with the local pro, subscribed to some online coaching plans, used a launch monitor at the range, etc. etc and my game is still wildly inconsistent.

Yesterday, I played 12 holes by myself. Fired the 1st drive into a hedge like 5 meters left of me, just to hit the drive on the next hole perfectly straight 200m over water. I knife a 10m chip to 20m behind the green, only to hit an 8 iron right next to the pin from 90m out on the next hole.

It all seems just so randomized still, I just can’t seem to find ample control and length to my shots. I’m comfortable with half shots, but struggle mightily with full backswinged shots. That’s why I’m so short with all of my shots…I just don’t have enough radius to generate speed because if I go full backswing, the result will usually be something dreadful…fat, topped, shank, missed entirely, you name it.

I’m frustrated at myself and just don’t know how I’m taking that “next step”, and getting away from hitting all over the place.

I’ll be thankful for all your input!

3 Likes

I have lots of thoughts on this… and I think improving at golf is a slow process where improvement is hard to notice…

But, I think you’ve mentioned an important aspect.

I’ve shortened my swing considerably. I’m a 5 handicap. I generate enough force that it doesn’t impact my distance that much… but even if it cost me 20 yards, I’d still do it.

There is a balance, and if your “full swing” is out of control, figure out a shorter swing that remains in control with playable distance.

Finding the swing that keeps you in play will help lower your scores, and as you keep doing it, you will generate more and more distance.