Who introduced you to this great game?

Working from the @Bigdadenergy post about “your first birdie”, I thought it might be interested to hear stories about who introduced you to this great game.

In my case, it was my dad. He could only play on Sundays due to his job, but I remember how special it was to get to play with him on those occasions. He was my golfing hero then and will always remain as such.

2 Likes

I used to go and ride along with my dad and grandpa when they’d play on Saturdays. My grandpa took up the game at 50, and played a ton after he retired at age 62. My dad would play some with him, but eventually lost interest. At age 8 I started playing with them. I would tee off and then pick up my ball and carry it to where my dad hit and play again.

When I was 10 my mom had a cyst develop in her brain and my parents had to travel to Denver to have it operated on. They spent roughly 6 weeks in Denver that summer, so my brother and I stayed with my grandparents. That’s the summer I started playing a lot. So I really credit my grandparents (and especially my grandpa) for getting me going. Though my Grandma bought me my first set of “nice” clubs when I was in high school, so she gets tremendous credit too.

My grandpa died when I was 22 years old. I still think about him almost every time I play. He was my first, and still is, my best golf buddy.

5 Likes

My dad got me into it. He was a good player growing up and hit the ball a mile (really wasn’t that far thinking back to it now, but at the time it seemed like it was). He has the best righty flop shot ever (I’d like to think I have the best lefty version since I got it from him, but I know that is impossible as long as Phil is still playing). He’s had some back surgeries so can’t hit it too far anymore which is hard to watch after knowing how he used to hit it. He’ll still sneak in some low scores though.