Should everyone see a golf coach?

I’ve long been a self taught guy and my index is 5.9 currently. So my go-it-alone strategy has been working

My goal is cut my handicap in half down to a 3.

Part of me thinks I should see a coach but I also know my faults in my game so well I kinda know what they are gonna tell me. So struggling with whether I would get a great deal of benefit out of it or not.

Do you carry on down the road of DIY or do you go with a coach?

Thanks
Marc

For me - a coach has unquestionably been a huge benefit! I’ve been taking a series of 1/2 hour lessons every two weeks or so, and practicing practicing practicing the prescribed drill(s) in-between.

A really good coach, IMO, can… (a) identify the root cause of swing issues, (b) identify the right fix for those particular issues and © communicate it all to you in a manner you understand and easily digest.

I think I’ve found a good “fit” with my current coach and my swing has definitely been improving :+1:

2 Likes

I think the answer is yes for most golfers, at least at some point. I haven’t had a lesson in about 10 years, but I’ve seen 4 different swing instructors in my life and they’ve all made a positive impact.

Of course it’s possible to make your way through this game as a self-taught player, but I think a good coach can make that process more efficient.

Golfers continually shell out $500 for new drivers in search of a better game. If most took that money, invested in a set of lessons, and did the prescribed work, they’re likely going to see a much larger impact on their game.

Here are a couple of relevant articles I’ve written

2 Likes