I know we have some rules experts here whose input I would value to this question but also the general population of this forum.
Last Sunday, playing well, lovely weather, looking like shooting low 80’s. 17th, par 3 uphill, I pull my tee shot into the bunker. When I get there it is right under the face, literally there is an overhand and the ball is under that, it cant go up and I cant hit is sideways with any real purpose (would have to reverse the club).
So, I declared it unplayable and took a drop in the bunker. I don’t like bunkers. My attempt to get out lands on the bank and rolls back in. Second attempt gets out but snags in light rough on edge of the green. Eventually get down in 7, quad bogey. Ouch.
In the club house, another member hears the tale of woe and remarks he would have done one of two things. Either take the unplayable and re-hit the tee shot or take ‘back on the line of relief’ 2 shot penalty and look to chip over the Green. Assuming the later I would have been on the green for 4 and taken either 5 or 6, Saving at least one shot.
As far as I can tell he is correct but it doesn’t feel right. I hit it in the bunker so I feel I should hit it out. Then again, I am all for stacking the odds in my favor.
So what would you guys do, keeping in mind you may well be better sand shot merchants than me!