Question from a slicer

Assume it a given that much of my slice comes from a 10 degree outside-in swing path. And at 70 years old that swing style won’t change much.

So if I cannot change swing style, why not change my stance/orientation? If a straight-on stance gives a 10 degree outside-in path, if I closed my stance 8 degrees, would that result in only a 2 degree outside-in path? My experiments do indicate some improvement.

If anyone can point me to discussions about altering stance to reduce a slice, I would be grateful.

For extra credit, what’s the prevailing thought on holding the club at address to moderate a slice?

Thanks

Hooding the club. Darn spellcheck.

I’m no golf pro, but wouldn’t closing your stance by 8 degrees still leave the club face way open (compared to club path) at impact, still giving you a slice? I think you’re going to have to fix your club path issues…

1 Like

Adjusting your address position is a band aid fix.
You can play the slice if you are consistent in the result. I know a guy will take his tee shot over the water hazards on the left and slice it back into the middle of the fairway.
You can find out what cause the slice you have. This will take a little investigation by a pair of experience eyes. This will be a more permanent fix.
Do you know why you com across the golf ball at 10 degree O-T-I angle? How do you know it is 10 degree and not 5 or 15?
Without seeing your swing, it’ll be anyone’s guess.
Launch monitor will show you the data of angle of swing path, attack… but can not tell you the cause nor can it offer a remedy.
Age has very little to do with how you set up and execute a golf shot. Seniors might lose some distance comparing to the youthful past, but should have no bearing on the execution of the golf swing.
If we understand the cause of a slice or a hood, it’ll be rather easy to fix the issue and be able to offer a more permanent solution.