Marking Golf Balls

Way back, I used to be pretty habitual about marking my golf balls in a particular way with a sharpie (three dots above the Titleist logo). I don’t think this ever helped me identify the ball and I wasn’t superstitious about it, just something everyone seemed to do, so I did it to.
These days, I never bother to mark the ball. The vast majority of my rounds are played alone and I haven’t played a round yet with someone hitting the same ball as me (when I’m playing a serious round, I’m gaming either a TP5 Pix or Maxfli CG Tour Green Matte, so they definitely don’t get confused for any other kind of ball).
How about you all? If you mark the ball, is it for a performance purpose, like lining up putts, or just an identifier?

1 Like

I mark the ball just so it can be ID.

2 Likes

I usually circle the number on the ball with a red sharpie. My 2nd ball I circle the number and add 2 dots. I may go back to my nickname/initials “KC” on the ball as this year I started playing with someone else that circles the number too although we never play the same model ball.

Welcome to the forums! Out of curiosity, do think the marking has helped you identify the ball when it would have been more difficult without it?

If I wanted to do that, I would need a stencil or something. Freehand would be too messy for my eye.

2 Likes

That’s partly why I stopped doing it lol. I don’t really mind if it’s messy though. When my girls were little I would let them draw on my golf balls for fun. They made me some nice unique ones…and yet some idiots would still pick them up lol.

2 Likes

I play Snells and haven’t had a problem! I do think it’s good to mark your balls, I always did in tournaments .

1 Like