Just laugh at yourself

I have been very fortunate as of late to just let things go. I am so different than I was even just six months ago. I wouldn’t get mad that I made a bad shot, but I was definitely be frustrated and/or discouraged, as I was going through a swing change and thought I was never going to figure it out. I was literally terrified every time I stood over the ball, it made the swing very counterproductive, stiff, forced, and mechanical. I have since settled in on my new swing and I’m sure my Coach will continue to tweak it little by little but the big part is done.
With that said, as of recently, I have learned to laugh at myself. I have never done that before until about a month and a half ago. Instead of being frustrated or discouraged because I make a bad shot, I just literally laugh. Laugh hard and out loud. I am sure this has helped me let the shot be that shot and move onto the next. I am not bringing tension or anger to the next shot, and as they say, laughter is the best medicine. It really seems to wok well. The next time you guys make a shot that would normally frustrate you, or make you upset, just laugh at yourself. Laugh hard at yourself, see if it helps you “let the shot go!” I hope you will all be surprised.

10 Likes

See Hatton, Tyrell - when he’s not throwing clubs at bad shots, he’s laughing/mocking himself

2 Likes

I think sometimes it’s better to vent the anger quickly and then go back to a positive mental state… ideally you always stay positive but trying to force yourself into being positive when you are angry can also create issues.

1 Like

Not to get too deep into the weeds, but…