How To Handicap A Buddies Trip

I’ve been organizing a buddies trip for 16 years now. It’s grown from 4 guys to 8, and possible 12 for 2022. We divide into two teams (teams drawn at random) and play a Ryder Cup-like format over four rounds. For a long time, we have enjoyed the following format:

Round 1-3: Fourball (best ball) match play
Round 4: Singles match play

On occasion, we will mix up Round 1 to include best ball match play with a shamble, Pinehurst, modified alternate shot, etc. But either way, the first three rounds is with a partner. The final round is solo.

We have never handicapped the event. Why? Because I am the only one with an actual GHIN index. We try to pair Singles match-ups to average scores over the trip, but I’m looking for the best - and easiest - way to handicap the event, making it more fair and equitable for everyone. If I had to guess, I’d say the handicaps would range from an 11 (I’m 11.2 currently) to about a 25. Here’s the other catch…we have a few of us around 11-15, a few around 16-18, and then one guy who’s about a 25. I want him to feel like he has a chance on singles, but also to help his partner the other rounds. As it is, he never does.

Suggestions? Thank you!

You could ask everyone to either get a handicap or keep track of their scores/differentials. It’s a simple calc so if you have some scores from everyone, you can assign a handicap.

3 Likes

Yep, ask them how many rounds of golf they have played this year and have them send you the scores

In my experience, someone has to take the lead on this and provide a handicap for the ne’er do wells!

1 Like

As pointed out, anyone can get an HCI now, not just club members so that should be straight forwards for them to do. Alternatively just agree between you all the adjust if need be, just dont let it become a thing that spoils your fun.

1 Like