Greenside bunker strategy

I frequently hit a greenside bunker as I am new to the game. Should I be conceding to the largest swathe of green for shot out or should I still be going for risky pins. Being conservative makes it feel worse than hitting OB somehow!

High risk high reward?
Or not accepting my limits?

1 Like

As a new golfer, youā€™re probably going to have a pretty wide dispersion of where the shot out of the bunker ends up. Iā€™d say have the center of the green in your mind, open up the club face, swing hard into the sand behind the ball, and make sure it gets out. Just by random chance, the ball will sometimes wind up near the hole, but at the very least you should be putting.

And FYI - Iā€™m not a new golfer (and not that bad at it) but my dispersion out of the greenside bunker is still pretty large!

1 Like

If youā€™re a new golfer anywhere on the green is good. My guess is you miss short/long more so than right/left out of the green side bunker. If there isnā€™t much green to work with around where the pin is located, playing for the fat part of the green is probably correct.

ā€œthe very least you should be puttingā€- Really hard to argue with that!

And yes it is the bladed miss or the too soft hit that seems to hurt me the most.
I perhaps should play smart and be happy just to be moving to a nicer club, though sometimes you catch it just right and it makes your week!

1 Like

For new golfers, my advice would always be, ā€œget out in 1ā€ and go from there.

My dad always taught me: Get out, Get On, Get Closeā€¦

Make sure you get outā€¦ from there, make sure you are on the greenā€¦ once you are confident in those two things, get close.