Book report: your short game solution

I’ve recently converted to the sieckmann method for wedge play… I think his book is a great addition for anyone, and can really help your short game.

I’m still learning the techniques, and have only done the finesse side… but I believe it has improved my short game, and I was already pretty good around the greens…

What I really like about it is if you follow the process, you eliminate blades and chunks… the worst shots you hit aren’t terrible.

Interestingly, it’s made me chip with my 50 degree more because it launches the ball so high and with a decent amount of spin… my 54 and 58 tend to drop and stop, which is perfect!

Is anyone else using this method? Any tips or tricks to share?

If you have any questions about the book, I’ll be happy to try to answer them.

Its been a great addition to my golf library and I highly recommend it!

2 Likes

I’ve been interested to hear more about Sieckmann’s methods. Any idea how close it is to Stan Utley?

1 Like

Just googled his technique… it’s definitely similar…

Sieckmann basically says tight stance, weight forward and lead the swing with your hands… basically throw the bounce into the ball. Utley seems similar but possibly more focused on the body driving the swing vs the club and hands pulling the body through the swing like sieckmann suggests.

Basically you open the club face as on the backswing and keep it open through the swing, plus the clubhead being ahead of your hands… you end up with a ton of dynamic loft, which I think is different than most teaching.

2 Likes

Thanks for posting this - it’s been a few years since I read the book, but I think it’s a great read for anyone who is struggling with wedges.

1 Like

Thanks for the synopsis. I sort of just started with the Utley method, even though it really just validated my “wristy” feel I have when I’m hitting my best is just fine. I think I’ll add this to my winter reading list.