Best Golf GPS Apps

Newer golfer here, and I am just getting into using FREE Golf GPS apps. Online, it seems like there are 5-7 that are highly rated. Honestly, I tried using one a couple weeks ago and just forgot to keep track during my round, due to the complexity of the app. I’m looking for the most hands off one possible, but one that also offers relevant data/options and a simple screen to navigate. Here are the three I have on my phone, but haven’t used: The Grint, Golf Pad, and Golf Logix.

What advice or recommendations do you have?

1 Like

Not to derail this thread, but I tried apps and ended up hating them because of bad coverage, bad battery life, or just carrying a phone on the course in general. I used an early model skycaddie for a few years and it was fine…but a pain to always be downloading courses if you play different ones.
I got an inexpensive rangefinder 2 years ago and absolutely love it. It is a toc toc toc and was like $125.
So reliable, so easy to use…never changed the battery and ami in about 100 rounds.

3 Likes

Welcome to the game and the forums! For GPS apps, it really all depends on what sort of data you are looking for. As far as simplicity goes, though, I’ve now found myself using the USGA GHIN app more than anything else. Assuming you are in the USA and have an official handicap, the basic functionality of the app is free. It has basic GPS distances and you can record score, GIR, fairways hit, miss direction (short, long, left right), and putts. You can look back on your stats and scores and also post scores directly there in the app.
There are also “premium” functions available for $40 per year that I might try soon for shot tracking and etc.

1 Like