Accounting for bad shots

I’m still a beginner golfer and am working to break 90. I still hit some bad shots each round and I expect most people do. So say my goal is a bogey on a par 4, 3 shots to the green and a 2 putt but on my second shot I hit top it. Should I just move on and accept the double bogey or try to make up for it? Also should I be more aggressive off the tee to make up for this, where if I hit two good shots I could be on in two but leave myself room for error? Say the hole was 366 par 4. Should I break it up into a drive, approach, and chip or iron, iron, pitch. Sorry for the ramble. I’ve been taking the approach of driver and 3 Wood off the tee for as much as I can if I’m going to keep it in play. I guess my overall question is how do you account for the inevitable bad shot?

1 Like

I love that you have essentially made bogey your personal par, if that makes sense. It’s a great mentality for a beginner, and as you improve begin altering your expectations appropriately.

Unfortunately I don’t have a good answer beyond it depends on the hole. The common saying is “there are no pictures on the scorecard” so whatever it takes to get the ball in the hole. Some holes that might mean laying back off the tee, others it means hitting driver. All depends on you!

Just move on… a bad shot happens. Keep working on reducing them, but focus on the good shots!

Put yourself in a position to get the ball in the hole, regardless of strokes or anything else… just focus on minimizing strokes forward.

If you are making consistent mistakes, improve on them outside the round.

1 Like

Thanks, that was actually what I was expecting, that it depends on the hole, the danger, and my tendencies.